UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the Netherlands

The Netherlands has a long and rich cultural history. Despite its small size, the Netherlands boasts 12 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. There is a large variation in these World Heritage Sites; eleven cultural sites ranging from historic towns, agriculture, historic and modern architecture, and one natural site.

The Netherlands has 12 UNESCO World Heritage sites, including 3 transboundary sites. Below is a list of all the UNESCO World Heritage sites in the Netherlands, with links to posts about the ones we’ve visited.

NameDate InscribedCategoryCountryVisited
Schokland and Surroundings1995CulturalNetherlands
Dutch Water Defence Lines1996CulturalNetherlands
Mill Network at Kinderdijk-Elshout1997CulturalNetherlandsKinderdijk (2018)
Historic Area of Willemstad, Inner City and Harbour, Curaçao1997CulturalNetherlands
Ir.D.F. Woudagemaal (D.F. Wouda Steam Pumping Station)1998CulturalNetherlands
Droogmakerij de Beemster (Beemster Polder)1999CulturalNetherlands
Rietveld Schröderhuis (Rietveld Schröder House)2000CulturalNetherlands
Seventeenth-Century Canal Ring Area of Amsterdam inside the Singelgracht2010CulturalNetherlandsAmsterdam (2018)
Van Nellefabriek2014CulturalNetherlands
Colonies of Benevolence2021CulturalBelgium, Netherlands
Wadden Sea2009NaturalDenmark, Germany, Netherlands
Frontiers of the Roman Empire – The Lower German Limes2021CulturalGermany, Netherlands
The table UNESCO - Netherlands was last modified at 2022-05-13 17:45:00 by Wayne.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: