UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Canada

Canada is a captivating country and each of Canada’s UNESCO sites represents a site that has contributed to the country’s rich natural and cultural history. If you’re considering a vacation trip to Canada, it’s well worth trying to see one or two of the country’s World Heritage sites.

Canada has 20 UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including two transboundary sites. Of these 20 sites, 9 are Cultural sites, 10 are Natural sites, and 1 is a mixed site (Cultural and Natural).

NameDate InscribedCategoryCountry
L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site1978CulturalCanada
Nahanni National Park1978NaturalCanada
Dinosaur Provincial Park1979NaturalCanada
SGang Gwaay1981CulturalCanada
Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump1981CulturalCanada
Wood Buffalo National Park1983NaturalCanada
Historic District of Old Québec1985CulturalCanada
Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks1984NaturalCanada
Gros Morne National Park1987NaturalCanada
Miguasha National Park1999NaturalCanada
Old Town Lunenburg1995CulturalCanada
Rideau Canal2007CulturalCanada
Joggins Fossil Cliffs2008NaturalCanada
Landscape of Grand Pré2012CulturalCanada
Red Bay Basque Whaling Station2013CulturalCanada
Pimachiowin Aki2018MixedCanada
Mistaken Point2016NaturalCanada
Writing-on-Stone / Áísínai’pi2019CulturalCanada
Kluane / Wrangell-St. Elias / Glacier Bay / Tatshenshini-Alsek1979NaturalCanada, United States of America
Waterton Glacier International Peace Park1995NaturalCanada, United States of America
The table “UNESCO - Canada” was last modified at 2022-05-13 17:43:31 by Wayne.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: